Welcome! We are a couple organising private and small group tours in many places around the world.
We create the itineraries for your customised private tours exactly according to your desires and are happy to be your drivers, guides and assistants on your travels. You can learn more on our skills and experiences below. We also organise tours in Turkey and New Zealand. If you would be interested to get more information on possible tours we can offer, please browse our website and write to us on info@driver-tourguide.com.

Tolun and Marielle in Canakkale, Turkey

Tolun and Marielle in Canakkale, Turkey

About us

Welcome! My name is Tolun Cerkes. I am an archaeologist and I have been working as a tour guide for over 30 years.
I speak fluent Turkish, English, French, Japanese, Italian and I can communicate in Russian, Chinese (Mandarin) and German. Having worked as a tour guide for many tour operators in Turkey, I have guided European, American, Canadian, Japanese and Chinese groups in their own languages. For my New Zealand E-class driving licence, I have a passenger endorsement . With an unblemished driving record, I consider safe driving as one of the most important aspects of my work.
I have studied Archaeology and Philology at the University of Ankara, and I also studied at Iowa State University in USA, and at Omsk State Pedagogical University in Russia.

I started to conduct tours in 1983 and have performed over 500 tours, and travelled over 850,000 km. I have worked for more than 20 travel agencies, including Cox & Kings, Kuoni, Marmara, I Viaggi Del Ventaglio, Deren Koray Travel etc., conducting cultural, archaeological, religious and nature tours. I have conducted many tours in Turkey, you can look up my other website here.
As an active member and supporter of Greenpeace in Turkey,  I am on their translation team and act as an interpreter during some of their projects in Turkey.
I am a vegetarian. I was born in Istanbul and grew up in Ankara, and I have lived and travelled around Europe, New Zealand, Russia, United States, Canada. While in Turkey I work on restorations of an old cave house in Cappadocia region, and like to plant trees.

Hello! My name is Marielle Cerkes. I was born and grew up in Estonia. I have lived in Sweden, United Kingdom, Germany, and now also in Turkey. Besides being fluent in Estonian and English, I can communicate in Russian, German, French, and Swedish. I studied Information Technology and International Development at British universities. My work experience has been in the fields of information technology, tourism, statistics, and I love travelling. I also enjoy playing the piano and singing.

Come and join us for beautiful adventures!

Tolun and Marielle